History for Adobe InDesign/InCopy


History keeps track of past actions of your work on InDesign documents. It shows all states you can revert to in a list and allows you to save versions within the document. Did you delete some important text or image yesterday? With History 2.0 plug-in installed it's no longer a problem. Documents saved with History can be opened in InDesign without this plug-in.

Added safety

Every time you save a version, History saves the current state into the document. In case you need to revert to the state when this version was saved and the thread of actions leading to it is already obsolete or after reopening the document, you will still get your layout in a new document.

Version which will open in a new window is marked with the green shortcut/alias symbol. Otherwise versions work as normal undo, with the advantage of thumbnail image and description to simplify orientation.

You can also let History to save a version state upon saving the document.


Things change fast during meetings with client or editorial meetings. New ideas and opinions flow and number of versions multiply every minute. Instead of saving into many files or clicking back and forth in the history, you can create new document from current state by a single click in the History panel.

Than you just save the versions you have agreed on, and the rest you close without risk of using the wrong files.


Back to History for Adobe InDesign/InCopy Home

Learn more about History for Adobe InDesign/InCopy

Related resources